Reptile’s Dream

18 May

Oh, linen stitch, how I love you.  I remember first coming across this woven-looking stitch in a knitting-pattern-a-day calender years ago.  I was infatuated with this stitch like nothing before.  Aside from a few dishcloths, though, I don’t think I ever made anything with it.

Until now.  Summer is obviously barreling down on us here.  Last week’s rains brought leaves to every tree and new growth everywhere imaginable.  I even have sprouts in the vegetable garden!  Instead of bracing for those 90 degree days of June and July, I’m daydreaming about cool breezy evenings.  To me, nothing beats mid-summer walks at dusk, enjoying the break in the heat and the sun.

With these cool periods in mind I made this shawlette.  The stitch is actually half linen stitch, meaning every other row is plain stockinette.  This combined with the larger needles in relation to the yarn weight creates a nice open fabric perfect for allowing maximum breathability while being just warm enough to shake off a light chill.

Instructions are given for the smallest size (shown in the photo).  Feel free to keep on adding length if you like something a little larger or more drapey.

The Details:

Yarn: fingering weight wool or blend of your choice
Yardage: at least 260yds, plus at least 60yds contrasting color for the edging
: 22sts/4 inches in half linen stitch
Suggested needle size: US size 8 for the shawl, US size 6 for the edging
Finished measurements:  approximately 46″ across the top edge
Price: $2

Find this pattern on Ravelry

2 Responses to “Reptile’s Dream”

  1. Keely May 18, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    I love it!! And it looks SO GOOD on. So many of the little scarflette things like this look odd, so whatever you did to make it look chic, I’m in awe. WANT!

  2. Kathryn | Alpacamundo May 19, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I agree with you on the linen stitch. I haven’t used it yet either, but I plan to.

    I love this scarf. 🙂

Leave a Reply

