Easter Dyeing

24 Apr

We bypassed Easter egg dyeing this year and went straight to yarn.  Much more fun.

The base yarn for today is Patons Kroy sock yarn.  Not the softest but I love the way it wears and it sucks up dye well.

This is using Jacquard Acid Dyes.  I love the colors I get with these dyes.

As an added bonus, I got to hear Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me while I was working (this week featuring John Waters!)

Some spring colors


And an experiment that I’m rather pleased with.  Okay, tremendously please with, not to toot my own horn. 

One of these two will probably end up as a variegated sample for a scarf pattern I’m working on.  Here’s my solid one so far:


I figure that working on a scarf that I’m excited about is the most surefire way to end winter.  Seeing as how it snowed here yesterday that may be wishful thinking.

5 Responses to “Easter Dyeing”

  1. Keely April 24, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Please tell me you can recreate the experiment!

    • wattsolak April 24, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

      I think so! I’ll jot down notes before I forget everything. You want some worsted weight?

      • Keely April 25, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

        even just one skein for longies would be awesome.

  2. Aj April 24, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Beautiful !!!!

    You need to start dying for profit:)

    • wattsolak April 24, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

      Thanks, Aja! Someday…

Leave a Reply

