Lengthy weekends vs Vacations

4 Apr

The last real family vacation we had was nearly two years ago. This combined with the fact that my husband’s job has pretty generous annual allotted time off means that my husband has lots of days off without anywhere to go. As a result we have taken a liking to the random four day weekend. And not any of these memorial day/labor day/presidents day messes where everyone in the country has a day off too and it’s a madhouse to try to do anything. These only-us days off rock. Family breakfasts out on weekdays without battling the usual Saturday crowd. Parks that are more empty. Shopping trips without the weekend hordes. Sometimes I don’t miss the “real” vacation when these long weekends can recharge me easily without having to deal with the chaos of travel, packing, and the unknown (which is no fun with a creature-of-habit four year old).

So here is it Monday, but for us it’s really Second Sunday. Ahh. The four day weekend really does a lot for the morale too, making you feel like a superhero of accomplishment with four days to fill. This weekend I:

(over)dyed some yarn,

started on the new garden beds (okay, this was mostly the husband but I orchestrated it),

took the niece’s Flat Stanley on a nice outing in his new sweater,

finished writing a new pattern,

opened an Etsy shop (as you can see, not too exciting yet. Yet!),

took a trip to the kid’s museum (Actually, this was husband too. I stayed home with the baby),

and made the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever baked. Hey, Elizabeth, they work at elevation too!

The best accomplishment of the weekend I can’t show you yet since it’s for a design contest that I’m oh so excited about. Sometime after May, though, you’ll see it in all it’s glory. Tonight I think there’s just enough time to squeeze another family trip to the park, a good dinner and some more cookies into this weekend. I’ll take that over a busy vacation.

2 Responses to “Lengthy weekends vs Vacations”

  1. emmy lou April 4, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Okay, so you are telling me these cookies won’t turn into butter pancakes? that is what ALWAYS happens with chocolate chip cookies, me, and altitude.

    • wattsolak April 4, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

      They don’t, really! There is some kind of magic to this mix that makes them not flatten out dramatically. I don’t usually use parchment paper but I bought it specifically for this recipe. Would that make the difference?

Leave a Reply

