Gypsy Wools

28 Jan

There is a tiny yarn store in Boulder on Spruce Ave on the south side of the Boulderado. For probably 18 months I occasionally walked by Gypsy Wools, usually on the way to Rebecca’s next door or Sushi Zanmai one more door down. My bias against most things Boulder and assumptions of downtown businesses told me this place was beyond my budget. Once while walking a sleeping baby around downtown, I wandered in expecting to look at nice fiber, scoff at the price and leave. Fifteen minutes later I ended up walking out with a rather nice and surprisingly inexpensive skein.

For such a small store this place has a large variety of colors, weights and materials. This week I bought a skein of bulky weight yarn called Gaia. I went in looking for a very specific shade of pale green in bulky weight and they had it. You can’t say that about many yarn shops this size.

Last time I was there I wanted a nice soft yarn to test knit the Junie Cap with.  This Kona Sport in a rich brown color was a dream to knit with. I highly recommend this line.

It’s nice to have a new destination in Boulder and I look forward to visiting again!

2 Responses to “Gypsy Wools”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby FOs « Wattsolak - February 13, 2011

    […] but she needed something heavier than her Junie Cap.  I worked this in a bulky weight yarn from Gyspy Wools.  It is unbelievably squishy.   Unfortunately I misread the pattern while watching TV with […]

  2. Baby FOs » Wattsolak - February 12, 2012

    […] but she needed something heavier than her Junie Cap.  I worked this in a bulky weight yarn from Gyspy Wools.  It is unbelievably squishy.   Unfortunately I misread the pattern while watching TV with […]

Leave a Reply

