Green to gold and other overdyeing fun

24 Jan

I love a good loophole. Even when the loophole is in regard to a rule I’ve made (Kind of like I’ve outsmarted myself, heehee). I said I wouldn’t work on any other project until I finished my cardigan but dyeing doesn’t count, does it? I mean, the yarn isn’t for any project in particular so it’s not really another WIP. Right? Right?

My new favorite dyeing challenge is overdyeing colored yarn. It’s relatively easy to start with bare yarn and come up with a color scheme that you like, but adding onto an existing color throws a wrench into the mix. I have quite a few nice skeins of yarn in my stash whose colors I’m not too crazy about. Most of these were either given to me or were orphaned in a clearance bin somewhere and I couldn’t pass them up. I am thrifty beyond belief and I will, in fact, buy yarn that is hideous if it’s a good enough price.

I’ve had quite a few nice surprises this month with overdyes. I hope you like them too.

The first one was an overdye of a skein of Knit Picks Bare worsted that had an unfortunate outcome with the first round of dye.


Sorry, should have warned you to shield your eyes. Bright, huh? Who needs that much pink? A dip in a blue dye bath gave me this:

Ah, better.

Next, a beautiful yarn handed down to me by a friend. It’s Spotlight Basics, a beautiful Australian wool, but just wasn’t a color I could see myself knitting with.

So in a crazed state I went nuts with various colored dyes. When all was said and done I couldn’t even remember what colors had gone into the pot, but I love the golden brown color that resulted:

From this same friend came two skeins of Sandnes Lanett, some wonderfully soft merino wool in fingering weight. Again, not my color. Actually, this was the color my living room was when we bought our house and it almost made me not want to buy the place. Almost.

Since I am a sucker for stripes, as I’ve said, I decided that this yarn would evolve into self striping sock yarn. Behold:

If my math is correct (which is nearly always is – thanks, math degree!) each stripe will be two rows thick with a 7-stripe repeat. I can’t wait to try this out. Striped knee highs, here I come…. eventually.

And although it wasn’t my favorite dye job, this is my favorite in terms of transformation. Two skeins of Soles & More that I got on super clearance at Joanns.

At a dollar a skein, I couldn’t pass up the chance of $2 socks. The colors of this yarn are so awful but with 75% wool and 25% nylon, I love the wash-ability of it. So this went from pastel stripes to:

semi solid ruby deliciousness. Mmm. I can’t wait to see how the original stripes add to the slight variegation of this one. I think this will look great as either Absinthe or Evening Stockings for a Young Lady. Hmm, this may be getting dangerously close to working on a WIP. I’m off to go work on my sweater now.

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Green to gold and other overdyeing fun”

  1. Helen January 25, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    When I saw that pink yarn I liked it and thought my pink loving girl would squeal over it. All of your yarn turned out much better than the bought originals. Great job!

    • wattsolak January 25, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      Oh I love pink too but that one was just too much. I could see your girl pulling it off.

  2. Emmy Lou January 25, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    they all turned out awesome! and I am super impressed that you worked out how many rows each stripe will be – in the future I will come to you with all math questions. 🙂

    • Aja January 25, 2011 at 10:00 am #

      I new could count on you for a good dying post sooner or later! I love the golden brown transformation, it would make a lovely shawlette:)

      Your math skills continue to amaze me!!

    • wattsolak January 25, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

      I’ll trade you math input for steeking wisdom!

Leave a Reply

