The slow cardigan

23 Jan

I am a total sucker for stripes. No, really. Look at all the striped things I knit. When I saw the Bergen Street Cardigan, it was love at first sight. The only thing better than stripes is stripes on cardigans.

I started this in August, determined to finish by the first snow (which in Colorado can be anywhere from the first few weeks of September to mid November). Mid September rolled around, I got to the top and tried it on. Too baggy. Lesson learned: when choosing a size for a garment measure across the bust AND around the waist. The bust width fit perfect while the waist was way too large.

I took my scissors and ripped out a row somewhere under the armpits, picked up the live stitches, and started knitting downward (the original sweater is bottom up). I hemmed and hawed over it lots before letting it sink to the bottom of my knitting pile.

When I came across the Twist Collective’s February Finish Fest, I knew this was the kick in the rear I needed. This is back on the top of my list, ready to be completed in the next eight days. It will be done!

And for added motivation, I told myself I won’t work on any other project until this is done. I think that will get me moving!

2 Responses to “The slow cardigan”

  1. Kathryn | Alpacamundo January 24, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    8 days? You go girl!

    I’ve been working on a sweater for 14 (yes, 14) months. I have 5 inches to go. It’s too big to travel with me now, so it’s a weekender now.

    I’m looking forward to seeing it finished. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Green to gold and other overdyeing fun « Wattsolak - January 24, 2011

    […] I am a sucker for stripes, as I’ve said, I decided that this yarn would evolve into self striping sock yarn. […]

Leave a Reply

